Audi and Porsche 2016 Le Mans bids scaly in wake of VW Group pollutants scandal

Audi and Porsche 2016 Le Mans bids scaly in wake of VW Group pollutants scandal

Audi and Porsche have scaly lower their Le Mans round-the-clock racing programmes as a result of cost-cutting connected using the VW Group pollutants scandal – and for that reason British race champion Nick Tandy won’t have the ability to defend his crown with Porsche.

The choice was revealed just before an Audi event, where its next-gen R18 e-tron quattro racer was revealed (pictured).

An announcement read: “Within the interest of maximum cost efficiency, Audi and it is group sister brand, Porsche, have decided to each compete within the Le Mans 24 Hrs – the WEC season’s pinnacle event – with simply two rather than the newest three cars.”

The 2016 Audi R18 e-tron quattro will compete within the LMP1 category, however uses the planet Endurance Championship’s (WEC) innovative hybrid rules to compete within the six megajoule hybrid sub-class. In 2015, it been competing in the 4 megajoule category.

Consequently, the diesel-powered R18 won’t make use of a flywheel energy storage system and mechanical battery set-up. Rather it’ll have a front-axle kinetic energy-retrieval system and lithium-ion battery arrangement. Gas-powered rivals Porsche and Toyota will both race within the eight megajoule category.

The R18 is going to be driven by former champions and Le Mans those who win Andre Lotterer, Benoit Treluyer and Marcel Fassler. The 2nd vehicle is going to be brought by former WEC champion Loic Duval and Lucas di Grassi and Oliver Jarvis.

The motorists of Audi’s third vehicle at Le Mans in 2015, Filipe Albuquerque nm, Marco Bonanomi and Rene Rast, have learned they’ll remain using the squad as works motorists, but don’t have any allotted programmes at the moment.

Porsche has yet to show its LMP1 racer, but has confirmed reigning WEC champions Mark Webber, Brendon Hartley and Timo Bernhard will stick together, and will also be became a member of inside a second vehicle by Romain Dumas, Neel Jani and Marc Lieb.

Porsche’s decision leaves both Tandy and fellow Le Mans champion Earl Bamber not able to protect their crowns. Third driver Nico Hulkenberg was unlikely to possess been area of the team anyway, while he includes a race commitment using the Pressure India F1 team.

There’s been no announcement whether Tandy or Bamber will still be supported in almost any capacity by Porsche.


About The Author

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *